Luke was head chef at Dabbous, when he won the Scholarship in April 2017.

It has been a golden year for Luke – winning National Chef of the Year (NCOTY) just months after becoming the Roux Scholar in April.

When Dabbous closed he took the opportunity to go on his winner’s stage during the summer. The first winner to chose Japan, Luke enjoyed three months training at three star Michelin Restaurant Nihonryori Ryugin, in Tokyo, with Chef Seiji Yamamoto.

Within weeks of his return from Japan Luke competed in the final of the National Chef of the Year and won.

Luke who was Young National Chef of the Year 2014 said, “It was hard work, I committed to both competitions and worried I’d taken on too much but I put in a lot of work and it paid off.”

Four previous Roux Scholarship winners have ‘done the double’ and won both competitions. Steve Love, 1997 scholar won NCOTY in 2004; Frederick Forster, 2000 scholar won NCOTY in 2011; Simon Hulstone 2003 scholar/judge won NCOTY in 2008; and Hrishikesh Desai, 2009 scholar became the first chef to win the competitions back to back going on to take the NCOTY title the following year in 2010.

Andrew Fairlie, the first roux scholar and now judge said on twitter, “Congratulations @lucas_selby winning @RouxScholarship and NCOTY in the same year we are all proud of you #greatambassador

Michel Jr, joked “Well we knew he was good!”