At a live event in London, Michelin announced 17 restaurants as new one stars in the 2018 Michelin Guide Great Britain & Ireland.

Mark Birchall, Roux Scholar 2011

Mark Birchall, 2011 Roux scholar, opened Moor Hall, West Lancashire in March of this year. Formerly executive chef at Simon Rogan’s two-Michelin-starred L’Enclume, he has been working hard with his partners to establish the business and his team – the hard work has certainly paid off. Moor Hall was the only restaurant in the North to be awarded a new star.

Rebecca Burr, Editor of the Michelin Guide praised Mark on stage at the award ceremony saying “Lancashire produces world-class ingredients and Mark Birchall uses these beautifully at Moor Hall, it’s a real star of the West Lancashire dining out scene.”

A delighted Mark said on twitter “Our formidable team. We have done it. The start of our journey…”

Adam Smith, 2012 Roux scholar, moved to Cowarth Park, Berkshire in July 2016. Previously head chef at The Devonshire Arms Adam, achieved 4-AA-rosettes for the hotel’s Burlington Restaurant. A protégé of John Williams, Adam worked at The Ritz for nine years rising quickly through the ranks.

Adam Smith, MCA, Roux Scholar 2012

The Michelin inspectors praised Adam’s accomplished classic British cooking and commitment to local ingredients and singled out his spring lamb with sweetbreads, artichoke and aubergine for particular praise.

Afterwards on twitter, Adam tweeted “Thank you for all the kind words of support, what an amazing day that took me totally by surprise!”

Michel Roux OBE tweeted to both scholars, “A fabulous achievement. You make the Scholarship family so proud!”

Anne-Sophie Pic, last year’s honorary president of the judges also received a Michelin star for her first UK restaurant, La Dame de Pic at the Four Seasons Hotel, Ten Trinity Square, London.

An extra special week for Adam!

This week has proved extra special for Adam, he is one of seven chefs to be awarded the coveted Master of Culinary Arts (MCA) title by the Royal Academy of Culinary Arts. The MCA award recognises exceptional standards in culinary arts.

Three other Roux scholars hold the prestigious title of MCA: Frederick Forster, 2000 scholar; André Garrett, 2002 scholar/judge, and Steve Love, 1997 scholar.