Björn Frantzén, Hon President of Judges 2020

The Roux Family are delighted that Swedish chef Björn Frantzén will join the 2020/21 competition as Honorary President of Judges.

Chef Frantzén has held three Michelin stars since 2018 and will be hosting last year’s Roux Scholarship winner Spencer Metzger for his three-month stage from January. Frantzén is widely regarded to be one of the best restaurants in Europe, and was the the first Swedish restaurant to be awarded three stars by the Michelin Guide. The restaurant started as a small dining room, but in 2016 it transferred to larger premises; a three-storey 19th-century townhouse in the Norrmalm district.

Chef Frantzén said: “Its a great honour to be asked to join as Honorary President for 2020/21. Having spent more than six years in the UK during my early career, the Roux Family has also been important for my own cooking. I still remember going past the legendary Le Gavroche every morning to work and dreaming of one day running my own Michelin establishment. So, its with great pleasure Im joining the legendary Roux Family for such an important cause as inspiring and making sure our industry is taking care of young talents; without them, our loved industry is nothing.”

Chef Frantzén is the fifth Honorary President of Judges to play a part in the Roux Scholarship. He follows such revered chefs as Pierre Gagnaire, Anne-Sophie Pic, Michel Guérard and Peter Gilmore in the role which sees him join fellow judges at the National Final at Westminster Kingsway College on 29th March 2021.

Chairman Alain Roux said: “It’s a privilege to welcome Björn Frantzen as our Honorary President. He is a modern icon, an astonishing chef, easily one of the most exciting and creative working in Europe today. Our 2019 scholar, Spencer Metzger, spent his winning stage at Frantzén and our finalists will have the chance to cook for him as well.   Björn’s breathtaking cuisine combines flawless Japanese techniques and flavours with the most sublime Nordic ingredients to create dishes of exceptional beauty and taste.  Björn shares our passion for inspiring young chefs and we cannot wait for him to join us in this year’s competition.“

While fellow Chairman Michel Roux Jr said: “I’m so pleased that Björn has accepted to be our Honorary President of Judges for 2020/21. He is one of the most talented chefs I know and is an inspiration to all in our industry. We’re delighted Spencer will be conducting his stage at Frantzén; and now that Björn is joining us to judge the competition, our 2020 finalists will have the chance to cook for him as well.”

Alongside Chef Frantzén, some of the country’s best chefs are returning as judges: joining chairmen Alain Roux and Michel Roux Jr are Clare Smyth, Sat Bains, James Martin, Simon Hulstone, André Garrett, Rachel Humphrey, Brian Turner and Angela Hartnett.